Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
Rocket (1989)

Rocket 1989. Rocket 1989.

  • UK Release Date - 30th January 1989.
  • US Release Date - 31st March 1989.
  • Format - 7/12 Inch/CD/CASS.
  • Producer - Robert John 'Mutt' Lange/Def Leppard.
  • Assisted/Engineered By - Nigel Green (Tracks 01/04).
  • Producer/Engineer - Robert Allen Scovill (Track 06).
  • Assisted By - John Smit/Malcolm Harper (Track 06).
  • Producer - Def Leppard (Track 02).
  • Engineered By - Ronald Prent (Track 02).
  • Live Track 02 - Recorded 25th June 1987 in Tilburg, Holland.
  • Live Track 06 - Recorded 12/13th February 1988 in Denver, CO, USA.
  • Photography - Jeffrey Katz.
  • Artwork And Design - Andie Airfix at Satori.
  • UK Record Label - Bludgeon Riffola/Phonogram.
  • US Record Label - Mercury/Polygram.
  • Special Formats - Limited Edition 7 Inch Brit Pack Boxed Set with six postcard factfiles.
  • Special Formats - Numbered Limited Edition (3,500 copies) 12 Inch Picture Disc.
  • Special Formats - Canadian 12 Inch/CD/CASS 'Rocket EP' with 'Women' Live Denver 1988/Band message.
  • UK Chart - 15 (25th February 1989/7 weeks on chart)
  • US Chart - 12 (29th April 1989/13 weeks on chart)

Single Notes By dltourhistory

The sixth and last UK single from 'Hysteria' was released in January 1989. 'Rocket' was released as the unexpected final single from the album in the UK. Issued due to the album's continued popularity around the world. It gave the band another Top 20 UK hit reaching Number 15. Their fifth Top 20 and sixth Top 30 single from the album. It also reached Number 12 in the US, 15 in Australia, 5 in New Zealand and 3 in Canada.

'Release Me' was used as a B-Side in the UK. Various versions of 'The Lunar Mix' were used with different titles and lengths from the Radio Edit up to the Extended Version. Another track from Tilburg was also used. In other countries a live track from Denver was included before the release of ITR-IYF.

Canadian Rocket EP Band Message

"January 1989 - In your hands is Def Leppard single #7 from 'Hysteria'. You gotta hand it to the Brits for this one 'cause they thought it would be a great follow up to their last single, which was either "Sugar" or "Love Bites" (I've lost track). They wanted a video for the track and since we had such a good time making the "Rocket" video (our childhood, what can we say!), why not give everybody a chance to play and watch "Rocket".

Right now we're back making the 5th album, thrilled to bits with everything that's gone on and looking forward to putting out our live concert video; In The Round-In Your face (something like that). One track on this piece of vinyl/plastic/whatever comes from that live video. I believe it was song number 3 in the show: "Women".

Thank you and goodnight."

Single Info