Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email. Get The Community Toolbar. Get The Community Toolbar.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
Tesla Mechanical Resonance LIVE! (ft. Phil Collen Song) OUT TODAY

Friday, 26th August 2016

Tesla 2016.
Tesla 2016

Def Leppard guitarist Phil Collen wrote and produced a song for Tesla's Mechanical Resonance LIVE! and the album has been released today.

The album is now available from today via Frontiers Records.

Their fifth live album after the platinum selling 'Five Man Acoustical Jam' in 1990, 2001's 'Replugged Live', 'Standing Room Only' (2002) and 2010's 'Alive In Europe'.

The original 'Mechanical Resonance' 12 track studio album was released in December 1986 and celebrates its 30th anniversary this year.

This new live version was recorded on the 2015 tour with Def Leppard and the order of the songs has been updated.

These songs made up the majority of the band's setlist when they toured with Def Leppard in 1987/1988 on the Hysteria world tour for over 100 shows.

Alongside the original 12 tracks 'Save That Goodness' is included as a bonus track. Written and produced by Phil Collen and originally intended to be a Delta Deep song.

Listen to this below if you have Spotify installed.

The 'Save That Goodness' promo video was released online yesterday. Phil and Debbi are set to appear on stage with Tesla tonight for its live premiere in Kansas City, MO.

Tracks 2 and 12 both name check Salt Lake City, UT which was played on 28th September 2015 at USANA Amphitheatre. The scene of many of the recordings for Def Leppard's own 'Mirrorball' live album (recorded in 2009).

Phil Collen came up with the idea for the album. As explained in this July interview where he and Tesla drummer Troy Luccketta talked about the album, the single 'Save That Goodness' and his production of their next studio album.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Buy Mechanical Resonance LIVE! Online

  • Buy @ - Amazon - (CD Version)
  • Buy @ - Amazon - (Digital MP3 Version)
  • Buy @ - Amazon - (CD Import)

Mechanical Resonance LIVE! - Tracklisting

  • 01 - Rock Me to the Top - 3:53
  • 02 - Ez Come Ez Go (Live Salt Lake City) - 3:40
  • 03 - Gettin' Better (Live) - 3:12
  • 04 - Comin' Atcha Live (Live) - 4:39
  • 05 - Changes (Live) - 5:!7
  • 06 - Before My Eyes (Live) - 5:26
  • 07 - 2 Late 4 Love (Live) - 3:59
  • 08 - We're No Good Together (Live) - 5:32
  • 09 - Love Me (Live) - 4:22
  • 10 - Cover Queen (Live) - 4:50
  • 11 - Lil' Suzie (Live) - 4:53
  • 12 - Modern Day Cowboy (Live Salt Lake City) - 5:46
  • 13 - Save That Goodness (Bonus Studio Track) - 3:49 - Written/Produced by Phil Collen
  • Total Time - 59:19

Mechanical Resonance LIVE! - Press Release Quotes

It’s been said that lightning never strikes the same place twice. However, it does in the case of TESLA. The band is thrilled to announce the release of a live recording of their classic album, “Mechanical Resonance LIVE!”, celebrating the original multi-Platinum record’s 30th birthday in style.

With a few surprises up their sleeve, including the single “Save That Goodness” written and produced by Phil Collen of Def Leppard, the album will be released on August 26th . The record is being released in conjunction with Tesla’s US summer tour opening up for Def Leppard, where they will perform in front of over half a million fans.

Said Frank Hannon, “30 years later and the songs on our first album still rock! Making this new live album of Mechanical Resonance was a reminder of the innocence and creative beginnings of Tesla.”

Added Brian Wheat, "It was a lot of fun to re-visit some of the songs we hadn't played in decades and had a great time recording it. "

Over the course of their thirty-year career, which started in 1986, the iconic Sacramento melodic hard rock quintet - Frank Hannon [guitar], Brian Wheat [bass], Jeff Keith [lead vocals], Troy Luccketta [drums], and Dave Rude [guitar] - has sold more than 25 million albums worldwide and played to sold out crowds across the globe, their three albums that followed “Mechanical Resonance” all went multi-Platinum in the US. To say Tesla live is absolutely bombastic is an understatement, they are a hard rock band to beat all hard rock bands.

The 21st century has become something of a renaissance for Tesla. Most recently, 2014’s Simplicity bowed at #14 on the Billboard Top 200. The group ignited ABC’s Jimmy Kimmel LIVE! in addition to scorching stages at festivals such as Rocklahoma, Graspop Metal Meeting, and Sweden Rock Festival as well as the cruise Monsters of Rock! As they prepare to cut their ninth full-length album with Phil Collen in the producer’s chair, Tesla takes another monumental leap forward as they glance back on Mechanical Resonance Live!

Related News - Watch Phil Collen In New Tesla Video Save That Goodness

Related News - Phil Collen Talks Tesla On Tampa, FL TV Appearance (Video)

Related News - Phil Collen Attends Tesla's Save That Goodness Video Shoot (Photo)

Related News - Listen To Tesla's Save That Goodness Single Written By Phil Collen

Related News - Phil Collen And Troy Luccketta On Tesla Single Save That Goodness

Related News - Tesla Mechanical Resonance LIVE! (ft. Phil Collen) Tracklisting/Release Date

Related News - Phil Collen Excited And Inspired By Recording/Writing Songs With Tesla

Related News - Tesla Drummer Says New Phil Collen Produced Song Is Beautiful/Awesome

Related News - Tesla Mechanical Resonance LIVE! Featuring Phil Collen Song Out 24th June

Related News - Tesla's Jeff Keith On Touring/Recording New Album With Phil Collen

Related News - Tesla Guitarist On Having Def Leppard's Phil Collen As A Producer