Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
No Matter What (2005)

No Matter What 2005.

  • UK Release Date - n/a.
  • US Release Date - 16th May 2005.
  • Format - Promo CD.
  • Producer - Def Leppard/Ronan McHugh.
  • US Record Label - Island/UMe/Mercury.
  • UK Chart - n/a.
  • US Chart - n/a.
  • US Billboard Adult Top 40 Chart - 24.

Single Notes By dltourhistory

The first and only single from 'Rock Of Ages The Defintive Collection' was released in May 2005. 'No Matter What', a cover of a Badfinger song, was the second cover version to be released by the band as a single. The first being 'Action' by Sweet in 1994. This was the second song to be released from the 'YEAH!' album sessions. Like 'Waterloo Sunset' it would later be slightly remixed for that album in 2006.

The song was only released in the USA digitally via iTunes and to radio.

A promo CD was issued in the USA in a jewel album case with artwork (see above). The back cover featured a live pic from the album inner booklet. The CD was printed with a black middle featuring the Lep logo and song titles plus a red outline around the edge of the CD.

Joe Elliott Interview Comments

"That was the first song everyone threw their hands in the air and said, We have to do this, which is odd because I don't think Rick was more than 6 years old when that song came out. We all had a copy of that song growing up. It's one of the kinds of songs that influenced how we write our own material. Badfinger was like the heavy version of the Beatles. Anything that was Beatlesque would influence us. It didn't have jangly stuff like a Beatles' song, but it had clever chords and great melodies. It made you want to tap your foot and shake your head.".

Single Info