Wednesday, 7th April 2021
Prev  |  Next


Def Leppard 2021. RSD 2021

Def Leppard will release their Live In Oxford 1980 album on vinyl for Record Store Day 2021.

The official list of releases for Record Store Day 2021 have just been announced and Def Leppard are included once again.

The band will release the 'Live In Oxford New Theatre 1980' live double 12" vinyl.

This is the sixth time the band have been involved in Record Store Day.

Record Store Day once again takes place over two days in 2021 known as RSD Drops.

This year they happen on Saturday 12th June and Saturday 17th July with Def Leppard's release coming on 12th June/RSD Drop 1.

This rare 1980 live show was first issued in March 2020 as part of the The Early Years on CD and digitally.

This will be its first release on vinyl and the cover artwork has been slightly modified.

Unlike 2020 there is no release by the Down 'n' Outz.

Other big name bands taking part include Pearl Jam, The Rolling Stones and The Police.

Joe talked about the live recording back in 2019 and last year.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Visit the Album News section for more news on new music (based on band member quotes).

Def Leppard 2020.

Def Leppard - When The Walls Came Tumbling Down: Live In Oxford Tracklisting

  • Side 1
  • 01 - When The Walls Came Tumblin' Down - 4:46
  • 02 - It Could Be You - 2:39
  • 03 - Rock Brigade - 2:59
  • 04 - Satellite - 4:00
  • Side 2
  • 05 - Medicine Man - 4:08
  • 06 - Answer To The Master - 3:25
  • 07 - When The Rain Falls - 5:39
  • 08 - Sorrow Is A Woman - 3:44
  • Side 3
  • 09 - Good Morning Freedom - 3:49
  • 10 - It Don't Matter - 4:48
  • 11 - Overture - 7:16
  • 12 - Lady Strange - 4:55
  • Side 4
  • 13 - Getcha Rocks Off - 4:37
  • 14 - Hello America - 3:14
  • 15 - Wasted - 4:53
  • 16 - Ride Into The Sun - 3:24

A live show featuring Steve Clark and Pete Willis recorded at the New Theatre on 20th April 1980. Previously unreleased.

  • Format - 2 Disc (12" Vinyl - 180 gram)
  • Label - UMC
  • US Label - Island/Mercury
  • Price - £
  • US Quantity - ,
  • UK Quantity - 4,000
  • Catalogue Number -
  • Release Date - 12th June 2021 - (RSD Drop 1)

Record Store Day 2021 - Def Leppard Product Links

Def Leppard 2020.

Def Leppard Record Store Day 2021 - News Quotes

"Originally part of the acclaimed Early Years box set, Live in Oxford makes its debut on vinyl. Recorded in 1980 this show captures the band on great form at the beginning of their career."

Record Store Day 2021 - News Quotes

"With vaccines on the horizon, Record Store Day organizers around the world look forward to the future, but recognize that in 2021, the world’s biggest record store party needs some adjustments to make it as successful for as many participating indie record shops as possible. RSD Drops will take place at participating record stores, globally, on Saturday June 12 and Saturday July 17. "

"Throughout the past year, record stores have found creative, flexible and inventive ways to keep serving the music lovers in their communities. However, the ongoing worldwide pandemic makes it impossible to predict the status of many stores and locations around the globe in the next few months. This brings with it many unexpected side effects, including production and distribution issues that continue to disrupt record store supply chains."

"The decision to once again shift the "Record Store Day energy" across 2 dates allows the largest number of stores to participate around the world."

SiriusXM/Trunk Nation - Joe Elliott 25th September 2019 Interview Quotes

40th Anniversaries Of OTTN/HIGH 'N' DRY

"You can't see my eyebrows on the radio. Well, thinking about it. We've thought about it you see you've gotta plan these things ahead. We've thought about this about a year and a half ago. And there's gonna be a celebratory release. I don't know how much of this I can say right now I might be breaking protocol."

"But I will say this much. There's a companion piece to On Through The Night there is a brand new just mixed live performance from the Oxford Theatre in 1980 from that tour. Which has never been heard. And it is what it is. It's warts and all. It is what it is. It's us live in 1980. You can't really, you know, we were discussing off mic weren't we about lip synching or overdubbing. You can't expect a 59 year old me to go in and clean up a 20 year old vocal. You know what I mean so it is what it is."

"But I tell you this much the band. As I said in the liner notes when you peer through the curtain of uncertainty that my voice was back in those days there is a fantastic band on stage. And Rick, the two armed Rick Allen with Sav was some rhythm section to considering he was 16 years old and Sav was 17 I think, maybe 18. And Pete and Steve were 17 and 18 years old. It was some band. You know and when you hear it it's spectacular."

"The album was about 42 minutes so when you're on stage it's about 45. So given an intro tape and a bit of talking in between that was pretty much it. We didn't even necessarily play all the album on stage. We played most of it I think."

BUILD Series - Joe Elliott January 2018 Interview Quote

Old Music/Archive Songs?

"I'm sure there's more than we've discovered but we did discover a few little bits and bobs. There's a lot of things that aren't up yet that will come out. We've found a live recording in Oxford at the New Theatre on the British tour. The On through The Night tour. Which we'd totally forgotten about. So we're having it all transferred from. the tapes's all flaky. So we're having it transferred to digital so we can get it mixed and see what it sounds like. I think it'll be good to put out kinds of a live recording that's got Pete Willis and Steve Clark on it because it's just an era that's not been really covered much other than on two records. So that'll be interesting for the fans I suppose."

Def Leppard 2020.

Def Leppard / Latest Release

Def Leppard / Latest Tour

Def Leppard World Tour 2021

Related News - DEF LEPPARD ALL TIMERS Digital E.P. Released Today (Listen Online)

Related News - DEF LEPPARD THE VIV YEARS Digital E.P. Released Today (Listen Online)

Related News - DEF LEPPARD Singer JOE ELLIOTT In New FANNY The Right To Rock Documentary


Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT At A BOWIE CELEBRATION January 2021 (Event Details Updated)

Related News - DEF LEPPARD Drummer RICK ALLEN Voted Best Rock Drummer In The World After Fan Vote

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours