Wednesday, 4th January 2022
Prev  |  Next

27 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT/RICK SAVAGE At Dublin Phil Lynott Tribute (Video)

Def Leppard 1996. Screenshot

Def Leppard's Joe Elliott and Rick Savage performed at a tribute show for Thin Lizzy singer Phil Lynott in Dublin on this day in 1996.

The show took place at The Point Depot in Dublin, Ireland.

The show date was the 4th January 1996 and was the 10th anniversary of the event.

The annual Vibe For Philo event was billed as 'King's Call 10th Anniversary Vibe For Philo'.

It marked ten years since the death of Thin Lizzy singer Phil Lynott in 1986.

The then current line up of the band performed a tribute show with various guests.

Joe Elliott sang three songs with Sav joining him for the last two.

The main band featured John Sykes on lead vocals/guitars, Scott Gorham (guitars), Brian Downey (drums), Darren Wharton (keyboards) and new bassist Marco Mendoza.

Most of that band would be part of the reformed band that toured in 2011 with Vivian Campbell and then form Black Star Riders.

This event marked the first time Joe and Sav had played live since the Vault acoustic tour ended in November 1995 in Canada.

It also came just over one month until the 'Slang' album recording/mixing would be completed in the same city in February 1996.

RTE Radio and TV broadcast the show with Pro-Shot footage available to view via the YouTube playlist linked below.

The audio was recorded for an intended album released that then got shelved as the band were not happy with it but the radio recording and video footage have been distributed by fans.

The 36th and final edition of Vibe For Philo is taking place tonight in Dublin at The Button Factory venue.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Visit the Album News section for more news on new music (based on band member quotes).

Dublin, Ireland 1996 Photos

King's Call/Vibe For Philo Dublin, Ireland 4th January 1996 Setlist

  • 01 - Jailbreak
  • 02 - Waiting For An Alibi
  • 03 - Emerald
  • 04 - Cold Sweat
  • 05 - Don't Believe A Word
  • 06 - The Sun Goes Down
  • 07 - Bad Reputation - (with Therapy?)
  • 08 - Are You Ready - (with Henry Rollins)
  • 09 - Still In Love With You
  • 10 - Suicide - (Joe Elliott on Lead Vocals)
  • 11 - The Cowboy Song - (Joe Elliott on Lead Vocals/Rick Savage on Bass)
  • 12 - The Boys Are Back In Town - (Joe Elliott on Lead Vocals/Rick Savage on Bass)
  • Encore
  • 13 - Rosalie
  • 14 - Black Rose

Watch all the footage from the show on this YouTube Playlist featuring Joe and Sav.

Def Leppard 1996 Dublin Fan Videos.

Def Leppard 2022.

Def Leppard / Latest Release

Def Leppard / Latest Tour

Def Leppard World Tour 2022

Related News - 23 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD Enter The 21st Century In CHICAGO On EUPHORIA Tour (Audio)

Related News - 38 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD And RICK ALLEN Recall His 1984 Car Accident (Archive Videos)

Related News - 38 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD Drummer RICK ALLEN Loses Left Arm In Car Accident (Story/Photos)

Related News - 23 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD Bring EUPHORIA To Peoria, IL (Videos)

Related News - 35 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD's HYSTERIA Tour In Hollywood, FL (Video)

Related News - 44 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD Support THE NEXT BAND In Grantham, England

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours