Monday, 8th April 2024
Prev  |  Next


Def Leppard 2024. Ian Hunter/Joe Elliott 2019/2024

Def Leppard singer Joe Elliott appears on the new Ian Hunter single People taken from the new album Defiance Part 2 Fiction.

The album 'Defiance Part 2 Fiction' is due to be released on Friday 19th April via Sun Records.

The single 'People' has been released as the second single/preview track from the album and can be heard below.

Joe has contributed backing vocals to the song as he had on 'Precious' which was released in February.

Joe also appeared on two songs on 'Defiance Part 1' which was released in April 2023.

Phil Collen contributes backing vocals to another album track called 'This Ain't Rock And Roll'.

Ian Hunter - Defiance Part 2 Fiction

Ian announced the album at 6pm on 15th February to coincide with the Record Store Day release list for 2924.

A 2LP coloured vinyl edition is released on 20th April for Record Store Day the day after the album's main release.

This LP features three exclusive extra tracks including another with backing vocals from Joe.

Listen to the single below via Spotify along with 'Precious'.

People ft. Joe Elliott/Cheap Trick

This second single and album opener also features members of Cheap Trick as the main backing band.

Robin Zander, Rick Nielsen and Tom Petersson all play on the song.

The first time Joe has played on a studio song with members of Cheap Trick with 'Precious' being his first time on a studio recording with Brian May.

Also appearing on the song are drummer Dane Clark (who commented on the song on Facebook) and guitarist Mark Bosch.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Visit the Album News section for more news on new music (based on band member quotes).

Ian Hunter - People Single

  • 01 - People [feat. Cheap Trick & Joe Elliott] - 5:01

  • Record Label - Sun Records
  • Release Date - 22nd March 2024

Ian Hunter 2024.

Ian Hunter - Defiance Part 2 Fiction

  • 01 - People [feat. Cheap Trick & Joe Elliott] - 5:01
  • Dane Clark: Drums
  • Tom Petersson: Bass
  • Robin Zander: Keyboard, Background Vocals
  • Robin-Sailor, RTZ: Background Vocals
  • Rick Nielsen: Electric Rhythm and Lead Guitars
  • Mark Bosch: Electric Guitar
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • Ian Hunter: Piano

  • 02 - Fiction - 5:39
  • 03 - The 3rd Rail [feat. Jeff Beck & Johnny Depp] - 3:19
  • 04 - This Ain't Rock And Roll [feat. Phil Collen] - 3:47
  • Dane Clark: Drums
  • Tony Shanahan: Bass
  • Phil Collen: Background Vocals
  • Andy York: Slide and Electric Guitar
  • Ian Hunter: Piano

  • 05 - Precious [feat. Joe Elliott & Brian May & Taylor Hawkins] - 3:51
  • Taylor Hawkins: Drums
  • Brian May: Electric Rhythm and Lead Guitars, Bass
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • James Mastro: Sax Abuse
  • Ian Hunter: Piano

  • 06 - Weed [feat. Eric Kretz & Dean DeLeo & Robert DeLeo] - 4:37
  • 07 - Kettle Of Fish [feat. Cheap Trick & Taylor Hawkins) - 3:43
  • 08 - What Would I Do Without You [feat. Lucinda Williams & Benmont Tench] - 3:46
  • 09 - Everybody's Crazy But Me [feat. Taylor Hawkins & Benmont Tench & Waddy Wachtel] - 4:24
  • 10 - Hope [feat. Taylor Hawkins & Billy Bob Thornton & Lucinda Williams] - 3:39

2 LP Record Store Day Translucent Yellow Vinyl Bonus Tracks

  • 11 - Normal Service Will Be Resumed As Soon As Possible
  • 12 - Needle Park (feat. Chris Robinson & Rich Robinson)
  • 13 - How’d Ya Like To Meet Henry (feat. Matt Cameron, Mike McCready & Joe Elliott)
  • Matt Cameron: Drums, Percussion
  • Mike McCready: Electric Guitar
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • Mark Bosch: Electric Guitar
  • James Mastro: Resonator Guitar
  • Andy York: Bass
  • Ian Hunter: Piano

  • Record Label - Sun Records
  • Total Time - 41 mins
  • Release Date - 19th April 2024
  • Release Date - 20th April 2024 (Record Store Day Coloured Vinyl)

Buy 'Defiance Part 2 Fiction' Online

Dane Clark - 24th March 2024 Facebook Quote

"So proud to announce the newest single release “People” from Ian Hunter’s “Defiance Part 2: Fiction”. I was honored to play drums on this rocking track that also features Joe Elliott from Def Leppard on vocals, Rick Nielson and Tom Petersson from Cheap Trick on guitar and bass respectively, and of course the legendary Ian Hunter on lead vocals and piano."

Ian Hunter - 15th February 2024 Instagram Quote

"I’m excited to finally share my new album Defiance Part 2 (Fiction) will be arriving on April 19, and my new song “Precious,” featuring @joeelliott on background vocals, @taylorhawkinsofficial on drums, and my longtime mate @brianmayforreal on guitar, is out NOW!."

The Joe Elliott Show - 30th December 2023 Quotes

Ian Hunter

"And before that, Ian Hunter from an album called Defiance Part One and as I've said many times, there's the clue. Yes, Defiance Part Two is coming in 2024 but for now, we'll just stick with a track which features Robert Trujillo and Slash from the album that came out this particular year. It is Ian Hunter with the song, the title track in fact, of the album Defiance."

Def Leppard 2024.

Def Leppard / Latest Release

Def Leppard / Latest Tour

Def Leppard The Summer Stadium Tour 2024

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's JOE ELLIOTT On New IAN HUNTER DEFIANCE Pt. 2 Single Precious

Related News - DEF LEPPARD To Release LIVE AT THE LEADMILL Record Store Day 2024 Colour Vinyl

Related News - DEF LEPPARD THE STORY SO FAR Target Translucent Vinyl Edition Out Now

Related News - DEF LEPPARD THE STORY SO FAR Coloured Vinyl Release/Japan Tour Edition

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's DRASTIC SYMPHONIES Spends 3rd Week At #1 On Classical Chart


share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours