Thursday, 15th February 2024
Prev  |  Next


Def Leppard 2024. Ian Hunter/Joe Elliott 2019/2024

Def Leppard singer Joe Elliott will appear on the new Ian Hunter album Defiance Part 2 Fiction due out in April.

The album 'Defiance Part 2 Fiction' is due to be released on Friday 19th April via Sun Records.

The single 'Precious' has been released ahead of the album and can be heard below.

Joe has contributed backing vocals to this song and also another called 'People'.

Joe also appeared on two songs on 'Defiance Part 1' which was released in April 2023.

He had hinted at the release in recent weeks on his Planet Rock show.

Brian May also contributes guitar and bass to the single along with drums once again by Taylor Hawkins.

The tracklisting is below which also reveals the song Phil Collen plays on called 'This Ain't Rock And Roll' (also revealed by Joe last year).

Ian Hunter - Defiance Part 2 Fiction

Ian revealed this single at 6pm UK time to coincide with the Record Store Day release list for 2024.

A 2LP coloured vinyl edition is released on 20th April for Record Store Day the day after the album's main release.

Listen to the single below via Spotify.

Joe With Cheap Trick

Joe features on opening track 'People' alongside members of one of his other favourite bands Cheap Trick.

The song also features Robin Zander, Rick Nielsen and Tom Petersson who will of course also play some shows during the Summer Stadium Tour.

Joe On Bonus Track/Pearl Jam

Joe is featured on a third song not listed on the main CD and Digital versions.

The song 'How’d Ya Like To Meet Henry' is one of three bonus songs on the Record Store Day 2LP yellow translucent vinyl.

It also features Pearl Jam members Matt Cameron and Mike McCready.

Phil Collen Song

Phil contributes backing vocals rather than guitar on track 4.

35th Anniversary

This news comes on the 35th anniversary of Joe's 1989 appearance at a Hunter/Ronson show in London.

The first known time that Joe appeared on stage with Ian Hunter.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Visit the Album News section for more news on new music (based on band member quotes).

Ian Hunter 2024.

Ian Hunter - Defiance Part 2 Fiction

  • 01 - People [feat. Cheap Trick & Joe Elliott] - 5:01
  • Dane Clark: Drums
  • Tom Petersson: Bass
  • Robin Zander: Keyboard, Background Vocals
  • Robin-Sailor, RTZ: Background Vocals
  • Rick Nielsen: Electric Rhythm and Lead Guitars
  • Mark Bosch: Electric Guitar
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • Ian Hunter: Piano

  • 02 - Fiction - 5:39
  • 03 - The 3rd Rail [feat. Jeff Beck & Johnny Depp] - 3:19
  • 04 - This Ain't Rock And Roll [feat. Phil Collen] - 3:47
  • Dane Clark: Drums
  • Tony Shanahan: Bass
  • Phil Collen: Background Vocals
  • Andy York: Slide and Electric Guitar
  • Ian Hunter: Piano

  • 05 - Precious [feat. Joe Elliott & Brian May & Taylor Hawkins] - 3:51
  • Taylor Hawkins: Drums
  • Brian May: Electric Rhythm and Lead Guitars, Bass
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • James Mastro: Sax Abuse
  • Ian Hunter: Piano

  • 06 - Weed [feat. Eric Kretz & Dean DeLeo & Robert DeLeo] - 4:37
  • 07 - Kettle Of Fish [feat. Cheap Trick & Taylor Hawkins) - 3:43
  • 08 - What Would I Do Without You [feat. Lucinda Williams & Benmont Tench] - 3:46
  • 09 - Everybody's Crazy But Me [feat. Taylor Hawkins & Benmont Tench & Waddy Wachtel] - 4:24
  • 10 - Hope [feat. Taylor Hawkins & Billy Bob Thornton & Lucinda Williams] - 3:39

2 LP Record Store Day Translucent Yellow Vinyl Bonus Tracks

  • 11 - Normal Service Will Be Resumed As Soon As Possible
  • 12 - Needle Park (feat. Chris Robinson & Rich Robinson)
  • 13 - How’d Ya Like To Meet Henry (feat. Matt Cameron, Mike McCready & Joe Elliott)
  • Matt Cameron: Drums, Percussion
  • Mike McCready: Electric Guitar
  • Joe Elliott: Background Vocals
  • Mark Bosch: Electric Guitar
  • James Mastro: Resonator Guitar
  • Andy York: Bass
  • Ian Hunter: Piano

  • Record Label - Sun Records
  • Total Time - 41 mins
  • Release Date - 19th April 2024
  • Release Date - 20th April 2024 (Record Store Day Coloured Vinyl)

Buy 'Defiance Part 2 Fiction' Online

Ian Hunter - 15th February 2024 Instagram Quote

"I’m excited to finally share my new album Defiance Part 2 (Fiction) will be arriving on April 19, and my new song “Precious,” featuring @joeelliott on background vocals, @taylorhawkinsofficial on drums, and my longtime mate @brianmayforreal on guitar, is out NOW!."

The Joe Elliott Show - 30th December 2023 Quotes

Ian Hunter

"So we've got Jagger and Richards in their 80s, we've got Macca and Ringo in their 80s and this next gentleman also in his 80s released a new album this year and he will also be releasing a new one in 2024. This is Ian Hunter."

"And before that, Ian Hunter from an album called Defiance Part One and as I've said many times, there's the clue. Yes, Defiance Part Two is coming in 2024 but for now, we'll just stick with a track which features Robert Trujillo and Slash from the album that came out this particular year. It is Ian Hunter with the song, the title track in fact, of the album Defiance."

Def Leppard 2023.

Def Leppard / Latest Release

Def Leppard / Latest Tour

Def Leppard The Summer Stadium Tour 2024

Related News - DEF LEPPARD To Release LIVE AT THE LEADMILL Record Store Day 2024 Colour Vinyl

Related News - DEF LEPPARD THE STORY SO FAR Target Translucent Vinyl Edition Out Now

Related News - DEF LEPPARD THE STORY SO FAR Coloured Vinyl Release/Japan Tour Edition

Related News - DEF LEPPARD's DRASTIC SYMPHONIES Spends 3rd Week At #1 On Classical Chart


Related News - DEF LEPPARD's DRASTIC SYMPHONIES Album Goes Top Ten In Switzerland

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours