Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email. Get The Community Toolbar. Get The Community Toolbar.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
Skin Crawl (2005)

Skin Crawl 2005.

  • UK Release Date - 31st October 2005.
  • US Release Date - 1st November 2005.
  • Format - CD Single.
  • Producer - Man Raze.
  • Mixed By - Simon Laffy.
  • UK Record Label - Surrealist Records.
  • US Record Label - Surrealist Records.
  • UK CD Catalogue Number - SR001.
  • UK Chart - 9 (Top 40 Rock Singles).
  • US Chart - n/a.
  • From The Album - Surreal (UK)
  • From The Album - Surreal (USA)
  • Lead Vocals/Guitars - Phil Collen
  • Bass/Backing Vocals - Simon Laffy
  • Drums/Backing Vocals - Paul Cook

Single Notes By dltourhistory

The debut single by Man Raze (as their name was spelt at the time) was released in October 2005. 'Skin Crawl' written by Phil and Simon was the very first song made public by the band on US radio in early 2005. It was released as a Maxi-CD Single in the UK and entered the UK Top 40 Rock Singles chart at number 9. It later re-entered the chart for six weeks during 2008 as the 'Surreal' album was released in the USA and UK. Tracks two and three have now been re-released as part of the UK edition of 'Surreal' which is also available digitally in the US. In December 2007 the band released a free MP3 download of the new re-recorded version of this song via

The single's release was pushed back from 24th October. Remix by SPX Crawlers (Nick Pratt and Jake Cusack). The bands independent label 'Surrealist' is based on the style of the artist 'Man Ray'. Who inspired the band name. The band have been kind enough to include my name in the thank you credits. Thanks guys.

30th August 2005 - Skin Crawl Press Release

'Man-Raze is much more than a sum of its parts. Freed from the expectations of their former (or current) outfits, the band can play whatever they like. The sound is truly eclectic - a mix of the classic and contemporary influences that have shaped the individual members as musicians - from the Police and Trojan Records through to Bowie and Nirvana. The band are releasing their debut single through their own label and all recordings are self recorded and produced.'

"Skin Crawl" is a beautifully crafted rock song. The distinctive guitars and powerful vocals of Phil Collen mixed with the driving rhythm section of Paul Cook and Simon Laffy and an instantly memorable chorus hook. The single features three b-sides that hint at the eclectic nature of the bands sound. From the straight up punk rock feel of "You're So Wrong" to the dub tinged Instrumental Dub mix of "Runnin Me Up" (this mix is a telling insight into the dub influence that shows on the forthcoming album). The single also includes an SPX Crawlers mix of "Skin Crawl" - an extended re-working of the single.'

"Skin Crawl" is released through Surrealist Records on the 24th October 2005 (Cat Number SR001). Surrealist Records is a new independent label distributed in the UK through Shellshock/Pinnacle (Sub Pop, Acid Jazz, Grand Union). An album is set to be released in early 2006.

By Manraze/Surrealist Records 2005 - sent to fans via their newsletter.

Single Info