Wednesday, 30th November 2022
Prev  |  Next

4 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD The Story So Far/Hysteria Singles Released

Def Leppard 2018. Def Leppard 2018

Def Leppard released their 2CD best of album The Story So Far...The Best Of Def Leppard and Hysteria The Singles box set on this day in 2018.

'The Story So Far...The Best Of Def Leppard' was released on Friday 30th November.

The second Best Of released by the band after the first in 2004 which was simply titled 'Best Of Def Leppard'.

The fourth Greatest Hits release overall following Vault Greatest Hits 1980-1995 in 1995 and 2005's 'Rock Of Ages The Definitive Collection' which the US version of the UK Best Of.

New single 'Personal Jesus (Remix)' was included for the first time on an album release along with the 2006 radio edit of 'Rock On'.

The album also includes the album version of 'Rocket' rather than the Visualize Video Edit included on previous compilation albums.

The 2 LP vinyl edition includes two new singles on a bonus 7" disc. 'Personal Jesus (Remix)' as the A-Side and 'We All Need Christmas' as the B-Side.

Visit the Tour News section. For more news on future tour plans.

Visit the Album News section for more news on new music (based on band member quotes).

The Story So Far...The Best Of Def Leppard - Photo Gallery

Buy 'The Story So Far...The Best Of Def Leppard' Online

  • Amazon - (1CD Regular Edition - 17 Tracks)
  • Amazon - (2CD Deluxe Edition - 35 Tracks)
  • Amazon - (2LP Vinyl Edition)
  • Amazon - (MP3 Regular Edition - 17 Tracks)
  • Amazon - (MP3 Deluxe Edition - 35 Tracks)

Buy 'Personal Jesus / We All Need Christmas' Online

  • Amazon - (MP3 - Personal Jesus)
  • Amazon - (MP3 - We All Need Christmas)

Buy 'Hysteria The Singles' Online

Def Leppard 2018.

The Story So Far...The Best Of Def Leppard - News Quote

"Def Leppard, Britain’s greatest arena rock band, are set to release The Story So Far… an album of the bands greatest hits and songs from their illustrious career. This set includes the previously unreleased Personal Jesus available for the first time on CD.

Having sold over 65 million albums worldwide since their debut release in 1980 and proved themselves one of rock music’s hardest working and consistently powerful live bands (playing to over 50 million fans in the last 15 years alone).

Def Leppard remain one of only five rock groups who can claim two separate original 10 million plus selling albums in the US (Pyromania being one of them). The others are The Beatles, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd and Van Halen.

The newly mastered set is available in 3 formats 2-CD/1-CD/2-LP which features a free 7” single with Personal Jesus and a brand-new song (only available physically on this format) We All Need Christmas.

Def Leppard 2018. Hysteria The Singles 2018

The 'Hysteria - The Singles' seven inch singles box set was also released on the same day.

Visit the Hysteria - The Singles discography section which details the singles and all the songs which feature some interesting edit versions unreleased since the original 1987 to 1989 album era.

It includes reproductions of the seven original singles from the album (seven USA / six UK) plus three new versions.

The Spanish cover artwork for 'Animal' (which differed from the rest of the world) plus two new singles for 'Love And Affection' and 'Excitable'.

These two singles use the album segments which were unused with the original singles in 1987, 1988 and 1989.

'Love And Affection' uses the top left segment with a new title logo featuring a heart design. Presumably by Andie Airfix who did the originals (not the dodgy covers used for the re-records!).

'Excitable' uses the bottom left segment and features the title written in red like the original 'Women' single. The songs are the albums versions with 'Run Riot' and 'Don't Shoot Shotgun' also used as album versions B Sides.

Like the 'Hysteria' box set released in 2017 this will also include 'a booklet with a full band band discography and an introduction by Joe Elliott'.

The 'Animal', 'Pour Some Sugar On Me' and 'Armageddon It' singles all feature the original US / Canadian B Sides.

The Spanish single artwork version of 'Animal' is a bonus tenth single not making up the album cover. This cover had the Def Leppard logo at the top of of a white back ground, the Animal writing at the bottom and the main album cover in the middle.

This is the first time the full 9 segment album cover had been released in single form. The original US singles made up 7 segments, the UK only 5. The 12" segments also only made 5 in the UK and 7 in the USA. The UK 12" covers could be made into 9 using the four extra 12" card sleeves that came with the 'Love Bites' Limited 12" Box Set (included in the photos below).

Andie Airfix R.I.P.

Andie Airfix.

Andie Airfix - who designed the amazing Hysteria album cover and all of these original singles covers.

Andie is pictured here with the single sleeves from a few years ago. He sadly died on 10th October 2018 aged 72 after a short illness just two days before this release was announced.

Def Leppard Hysteria The Singles - Photo Gallery

Hysteria The Singles - News Quotes

We are proud to bring you the latest in our series of catalogue releases from Def Leppard, Hysteria: The Singles, a new 7” vinyl box set of all of the incredible singles from the eponymous multi-platinum album which of course celebrated its 30th anniversary last year.

Featuring 10 singles including 2 unique to this collection – ‘Excitable’ and ‘Love and Affection’ – the set also sees the cover art of 9 of the singles making up the sleeve of the original album, plus an additional Spanish single.

Housed in a classic lift-off box, Hysteria: The Singles also includes a booklet with a full band band discography and an introduction by Joe Elliott himself.

Hysteria The Singles - News Quotes

Def Leppard will release Hysteria: The Singles, a new limited edition, 10-disc vinyl box set featuring all of the 7” singles from the multi-platinum album Hysteria, which celebrated its 30th anniversary last year. Hysteria: The Singles features repressed versions of all eight 7-inch vinyl singles for Hysteria including their Top-5 hits “Pour Some Sugar On Me,” “Animal,” “Love Bites,” “Hysteria,” “Rocket” and “Armageddon It.” Two bonus singles, “Excitable”/”Run Riot” (Album Version) and “Love and Affection”/”Don’t Shoot The Shotgun” (Album Version), are only available in this box set.

Housed in a box with a lift-off lid, Hysteria: The Singles features new cover art made up of all 10 of the single’s sleeves, including the special Spanish “Animal” single, plus a booklet with a full band discography and an introduction written by Joe Elliott.

Listen to and view all the related videos for the album on this YouTube playlist.

Def Leppard Videos 2018.

Def Leppard 2022.

Def Leppard / Latest Release

Def Leppard / Latest Tour

Def Leppard World Tour 2022

Related News - How DEF LEPPARD Formed 44 Years Ago This Month In SHEFFIELD

Related News - 26 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD's Breathe A Sigh Number 1 On UK Rock Chart

Related News - 34 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD's HYSTERIA Album Certified DIAMOND In Canada

Related News - 34 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD's HYSTERIA Album 8xPlatinum In USA

Related News - 33 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD's In The Round In Your Face Goes Platinum In USA

Related News - 28 Years Ago DEF LEPPARD's PYROMANIA Album Certified 9xPlatinum In USA

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours