Sunday, 16th February 2020
Prev  |  Next

The JOE ELLIOTT Show 16th February 2020 Playlist/Transcript

Joe Elliott 2019. By dltourhistory

Def Leppard singer Joe Elliott hosted another edition of his weekly radio show last night on Planet Rock.

This week's show included songs by David Bowie, Def Leppard and Yes.

The full playlist is shown below and a full transcript.

The show is available until next Saturday using the On Demand feature. It is also repeated on Tuesdays at 9pm.

The Joe Elliott Show - 15th February 2020 Playlist

  • 01 - Ted Nugent - Just What The Doctor Ordered
  • 02 - Def Leppard - Mirror, Mirror (Look Into My Eyes)
  • 03 - Motley Crue - Dr. Feelgood
  • 04 - Bryan Ferry - The 'In' Crowd
  • 05 - David Bowie - Stay '97
  • 06 - Yes - Rhythm Of Love
  • 07 - Honeymoon Suite - Feel It Again
  • 08 - Jet - Nothing To Do With Us
  • 09 - Jet - Rollover DJ
  • 10 - Wizzard - See My Baby Jive

Show Intro

"Evening all and welcome once again to The Joe Elliott show right here on the wonderful Planet Rock. Great to be with you once again. We've got for you tonight, in my humble opinion, sixty minutes of great music. And I shall be revealing the winners of last week's competition in just a little while."

"So if you like your music hard and fast this may just be what the doctor ordered."

Ted Nugent

"Saw him do that song night after night after night on the 1980 tour that Def Leppard with Ted Nugent all over the USA 40 years ago this summer coming. Unbelievable. From his Great Gonzo collection that is Ted Nugent with Just What The Doctor Ordered."

Def Leppard

"Now if you were tuned in last week you'll remember that we were running a competition to win a copy of the soon to be released Def Leppard box set The Early Years which is a five CD box set. The first two albums On Through The Night and High 'n' Dry totally remastered. The third disc is live from the Oxford New Theatre in 1980 never heard before and disc four and five are all the relevant B-Sides, radio sessions etc. Plus there's a 40 page booklet, photographs and information. It's a pretty cool package."

"We had some fantastically wrong answers. Fair play to everybody for giving it a go. But the correct answer was every song that I played on last week's show was a title track from the album that they came from."

"Until then let's listen to a track from said box set. From the 1981 album High 'n' Dry this is Def Leppard."

"And before that we heard Def Leppard from 1981. The album is High 'n' Dry . The song we heard Mirror, Mirror (Look Into My Eyes). And by the way folks don't forget you still have plenty of time to vote for your favourite in Planet Rock's The Rocks 2020. For a full list of categories and to see who that you can vote for go to planetrock dot com. Voting closes 19th February."

Motley Crue

"I mentioned towards the top of the show how Def Leppard had spent the summer of 1980 opening for Ted Nugent. All those years ago 40 years this summer coming. We were actually third on the bill to the Scorpions and Ted Nugent. But this summer coming 40 years on we're gonna be in stadiums with the likes of Motley Crue, Poison and Joan Jett And The Blackhearts. Can I just say how much I love my job. There from 1989 is Motley Crue. It's the title track of the album Dr. Feelgood."

Bryan Ferry

"OK that's all the plugs in. This is Bryan Ferry."

"Before that we heard Bryan Ferry from his Platinum Collection. The song an old old Dobie Grey classic The 'In' Crowd."

David Bowie

"That my friends is a fantastic re-recording of a David Bowie song originally released in 1976. This is from a six track streaming EP called Is It Any Wonder?. And it is called Stay '97. Re-recorded at the Docklands Factory Rehearsal space where Def Leppard used to rehearse all the time. David Bowie was in town for a week and I was actually there when he played live in front of 400 invited guests at that particular venue. in fact it was the very night that I met Ricky Warwick for the very first time. But that is a different story."

"You are listening to The Joe Elliott Show on the wonderful Planet Rock. It is time for a little break. And when we come back, we're gonna switch on the big generator."


"And before that Yes who had ventured away from Prog Rock and gone themselves to wards a little bit of 80s power pop. The album is Big Generator. The song we heard Rhythm Of Love."

Honeymoon Suite

"Now that is 80s power pop at its very best there. Taken from a Rhino high five power ballads box set. What a mouthful. That is Honeymoon Suite with Feel It Again."


"Now if you're a repeat offender you may remember about six or seven weeks ago I id a little section of the show called same song title different band and I believe it was Thin Lizzy/ Be Bop Deluxe. And the songs were Dancing In the Moonlight. Try this one for size. Two different bands, two different songs. Same named band. One's English, one's Australian both called Jet."

"And before that we heard the UK Jet from the mid 70s. featuring the likes of Peter Oxendale who played in Overnight Angels Ian Hunter's 1977 band and went on to play with Frankie Goes To Hollywood. Featured ex members of the band Sparks and also a guy on the vocals called Andy Ellison who used to be in a band with Marc Bolan called John's Children. The song that we heard Nothing To Do With Us."


"They should have been massive. Can't believe that they weren't. And I can't believe that's 17 years old. That is the Australian Jet from the album Get Born with Rollover DJ."

Show Outro

"And that my friends is about it for this week. It's been a real pleasure as always. I shall be back with you next week at exactly the same time."

"So until then I'm gonna leave you with this. Taken from a brilliant collection called The Best Glam Rock Album In The World Ever. This is Roy Wood's Wizzard and See My Baby Jive. Until next week see ya!."

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
All News
Tour News
Album News
All Tours