Monday, 3rd December 2018
Prev  |  Next


Def Leppard 2018. Screenshot

Def Leppard played another show on the 2018 Hysteria tour last night in Belfast, Northern Ireland with 17 songs performed.

The show took place at the 11,000 capacity The SSE Arena, Belfast.

The band's first time in Belfast since 7th December 2015 during the 2015 World Tour.

The 12th appearance by the band in this city and fourth time at this venue.

The first visit was in February 1983 with the first official show of the main Pyromania world tour at Ulster Hall.

Two shows followed on the Hysteria tour in August 1987 at the same venue. These would features seven Hysteria album tracks plus B-Side 'Tear It Down. Joe injured his back at the second show when jumping off the drum riser.

They would return to Belfast for a third Hysteria tour show at King's Hall in April 1988. Steve Clark's last UK show with Def Leppard.

Four years later in July 1992 they returned to King's Hall for an In The Round show on the Adrenalize tour and a first home town show for Vivian Campbell as a member of the band.

November 1996 saw the band return to King's Hall on the Slang tour.

Ulster Hall was the venue once again in October 1999 for a show on the Euphoria tour.

When they played Belfast again in February 2003 the setlist would feature 23 songs. The show took place at the Waterfront Hall.

Five years later in June 2008 the Odyssey Arena was played for the first time alongside Whitesnake.

The June 2011 show was played there again before the third show in December 2015 when the arena was now renamed as The SSE Arena, Belfast.


The 'Hysteria' album was played in full for the very first time in Belfast.

'Excitable' and 'Love And Affection' were all played for the first time here.

Both 'Don't Shoot Shotgun' and 'Run Riot' had been played here at the two shows in 1987 on the original Hysteria tour.

The full Hysteria album was followed by five songs again. 'Wasted' was played as song #13. A special surprise for the crowd who had just sung 'Happy Birthday' to Sav who was celebrating his 58th birthday.

As you can see below the song was requested by Vivian.

Cheap Trick

Cheap Trick opened the show and varied their setlist a bit from Dublin with one change.

Watch some Fan Videos from the show here.

Def Leppard 2018 Fan Videos.

Joe Elliott - Wasted Intro

"Alright Belfast?. Well everybody has celebrations on the go tonight. One more birthday under our belts. I've known him, f**k, 41 years now. We knew this guy when he was in Sweet Savage right. And he tells me a lot that he bought our first E.P. back in 1979. And we gave him dibs on this song. When we do this thing here it doesn't matter what we do. We do some stuff from before Hysteria and we do some stuff from after Hysteria. And because it's his home town he really wants to do this one. So unrehearsed. Un - f**king - rehearsed. We are gonna do this. Belfast. Let's get Wasted!."

Joe Elliott - End Of Show Speech

"Belfast, Northern Ireland!. It has been a real pleasure playing for you tonight. Thanks for having us. Thanks for coming. Thanks for being here. We'll see you next time. Goodnight!."

View the current Setlist Statistics in the next news update.

The next show takes place on 4th December in Cardiff, Wales.

Def Leppard 2018 - Belfast, Northern Ireland Setlist

  • 00 - Hysteria Album Intro


  • 01 - Women
  • 02 - Rocket (Album Version)
  • 03 - Animal
  • 04 - Love Bites
  • 05 - Pour Some Sugar On Me
  • 06 - Armageddon It
  • 00 - Steve Clark ITR-IYF Guitar Solo (Video)
  • 07 - Gods Of War
  • 08 - Don't Shoot Shotgun
  • 09 - Run Riot
  • 10 - Hysteria
  • 11 - Excitable

Played for the first time in Belfast.

  • 12 - Love And Affection

Played for the first time in Belfast.

  • 13 - Wasted

The song #13 rotating spot continues with this song's second playing of 2018. Played for the fourth time in Belfast (1983, 1987, 2011, 2018).

  • 14 - When Love & Hate Collide
  • 15 - Let's Get Rocked

  • 16 - Rock Of Ages
  • 17 - Photograph

Cheap Trick - Belfast, Northern Ireland Setlist

  • 01 - Hello There
  • 02 - You Got It Going On
  • 03 - California Man
  • 04 - If You Want My Love
  • 05 - On Top Of The World
  • 06 - Ain't That A Shame
  • 07 - The Flame
  • 08 - I Want You To Want Me
  • 09 - Dream Police
  • 10 - Surrender

share this story:

get def leppard news

Stay in touch with the latest updates.

explore def leppard tour history
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar
Phil Collen - Guitar