Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email. Get The Community Toolbar. Get The Community Toolbar.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
Def Leppard's Dangerous UK Radio Edit Featured On BBC Radio 2 Show

Monday, 9th May 2016

Def Leppard 2015.

Def Leppard were the featured artist during a segment on the BBC Radio 2 show After Midnight on Sunday.

DJ Alex Lester played 'Dangerous' during the Virtual Musical Map feature on the show which is normally hosted by Janice Long.

Alex also mentioned "some UK dates" for December. This is likely a reference to last years UK tour. Or not, of course, but it seems highly unlikely they'd do another arena tour here so soon after the last one.

Probably just reading out some random facts from a sheet of paper given to him. Although he has played PSSOM a few times on his own show.

If you are in the UK you can listen back to this show for the next 28 days. And hear the UK Radio edit version of Dangerous.

The Lep part of the show starts at 17:24 minutes in.

The photo tweeted below by the station was taken during the band's 16th February 1989 appearance on Top Of The Pops. They played 'Rocket' to open the show and this was the final time Steve appeared with the band in the UK.

Visit the Album News section. For more news on new music (based on band member quotes) dating back to January 2011.

BBC Radio 2 - Alex Lester Quotes

"Sarah Thompson has requested we pay a visit to the Steel capital of Sheffield for today's Virtual Musical Map. She'd like us to honour British rock band Def Leppard. Part of the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal bands in the late 70s."

"The longest standing line up of the group consists of Joe Elliott on lead vocals, bassist Rick Savage, drummer Rick Allen and guitarists Phil Collen and Vivian Campbell. Def Leppard have become a household name for acclaimed albums such as High 'n' Dry, Pyromania and their chart topping Hysteria. Which has gone on to sell over 25 million copies worldwide."

"In total the group shifted 100 million records worldwide. And last October they increased that tally with the release of their self titled 11th studio album. Now according to frontman Joe Elliott. The reason for the albums somewhat sort of lacklustre title is because it doesn't sound like any one specific era of Def Leppard. The album reflects everything they ever wanted to put out. Acoustic, slow, soft, fact and heavy."

"Well some of those adjectives certainly apply to out featured track from the album. Dangerous."

"That's a terrific track. Def Leppard and Dangerous. Producer Thor and myself think actually everything helps with a bit of a grunt in there as well. UH!. You wonder whether you just drop it into conversation from time to time, whether it makes us 2.5 percent sexier than we were before. UH!."

"Dangerous from an eponymous titled 2015 album from Def Leppard. Earlier this year Def Leppard led the Hysteria On The High Seas concert aboard the MSC Divina. Unfortunately things didn't go quite according to plan. The ship was unable to dock at the Private Island due to bad weather and singer Joe Elliott became ill with laryngitis on the night of their performance."

"It was the first time in Def Leppard's history that the band performed without Joe. It seems the vocals are now back in full working order as Def Leppard are currently on a major tour of the States with some UK dates predicted to take place in December. Check local press for details UH!. Yeah, it's really working."

"So let's honour poets, singers and musicians Def Leppard with little known facts about Sheffield. Why not suggest another town or village to add to our musical map UH!."

  • Buy UK CD Fanpack @ - Amazon
  • Buy Digital MP3 @ - Amazon
  • Buy CD @ - Amazon
  • Buy Vinyl @ - Amazon
  • Buy MP3 (USA) @ -
  • Buy MP3 (UK) @ -

Related News - Def Leppard Album Re-Enters The UK Rock Chart Top 30

Related News - Joe Elliott On How He Changed The Lyrics For Dangerous

Related News - Joe Elliott Talks About New Def Leppard Single Dangerous

Related News - Def Leppard Dangerous Radio Single UK/US Release Dates

Related News - Def Leppard Dangerous/Let's Go New Radio Edit Promo CD Details

Related News - Def Leppard Number 1 On UK Rock And Metal Album Chart

Related News - Def Leppard Album Enters UK Chart At Number 11