Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email. Get The Community Toolbar. Get The Community Toolbar.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
Def Leppard 2016 Summer Tour Lafayette, LA (Show Report)

Thursday, 5th May 2016

Def Leppard 2016.
Screenshot by dltourhistory

Def Leppard continued their 2016 Summer Tour last night in Lafayette, LA with 16 songs performed.

The show took place at the 13,500 seat Lafayette Cajundome.

A venue used as a temporary shelter in the wake of Hurricane Katrina in 2005.

This was band's first ever visit to this city in Louisiana.

The last show in this state was in New Orleans on 22nd September 2011 during the Mirrorball tour.

This concert was originally scheduled for 3rd February but was postponed on 1st February along with 11 other shows. Three of which had to be cancelled.

As mentioned Rick's drum riser now includes sections of LED video wall. Closer inspection of the lighting rig reveals it is quite different to the one used before this tour leg or at least differently arranged. As shown in the comparison photo below using shots from Sunrise (left) and Pensacola (right) at the end of the shows.


The setlist was the same as the opening show of this leg in Pensacola, FL.

'Let's Go' and 'Dangerous' were once again the only new songs played from the current studio album.

'Dangerous' being played for only the third time in the USA and second time since Joe's return. And it should be remembered are new to fans on all of these upcoming shows unless they saw the six shows they played 'Let's Go' at in the USA during 2015.

Joe's solo version of 'Two Steps Behind' was once again omitted from the setlist.

Tesla rejoined the tour playing before Styx in their now regular opening slot.

In change from last years shows they had the corresponding album cover shown on the video screen as each song played. Replacing the static band name logo used before now. These included their most successful albums 'Mechanical Resonance' (1986) and 'The Great Radio Controversey' (1989).

Watch some Fan Videos from the show here.

Def Leppard 2016 Lafayette, LA Fan Videos.

Joe Elliott - Pre-Rock Of Ages Speech

"Thank you. Thank you very much. I was mentioning earlier about what this band has been through for what 30-odd, 38, 39 years. So nearly 40 years. Nobody deserves it more. I mean a round of applause and a lot of noise from you people out there than the boy at the back. Stand up Rick Allen!. He's a - he's gonna introduce this one for ya."

Joe Elliott - End Of Show Speech Part 1

"Lafayette. Thanks for coming. Thanks for having us. Thanks for being here. We'll see you again one day. Goodnight."

View the current Setlist Statistics in the next news update.

The next show takes place on 5th May in Corpus Christi, TX.

Def Leppard World Tour 2016 - Show #3 Lafayette, LA Setlist

  • 00 - Let's Go Intro (PA)
  • 01 - Let's Go
  • 02 - Animal
  • 03 - Let It Go
  • 04 - Dangerous
  • 05 - Foolin'
  • 06 - Love Bites
  • 07 - Armageddon It
  • 08 - Rick Savage Bass Solo/Rock On
  • 09 - Rocket (Single Version)
  • 10 - Bringin' On The Heartbreak (electric)
  • 11 - Switch 625 (Instrumental)
  • 12 - Hysteria/Heroes (David Bowie) tag

Joe added in the Heroes tag in tribute to David Bowie.

  • 13 - Let's Get Rocked
  • 14 - Pour Some Sugar On Me
  • 15 - Rock Of Ages
  • 16 - Photograph

Styx - Lafayette, LA Setlist

  • 01 - The Grand Illusion
  • 02 - Too Much Time On Your Hands
  • 03 - Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)
  • 04 - Miss America
  • 05 - Lady
  • 06 - Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
  • 07 - Medley - 1999 (Prince)/Changes (David Bowie)
  • 08 - Come Sail Away
  • 09 - Rockin' The Paradise
  • 10 - Renegade