Get Updates/News. Updates/News by RSS Feed. Updates/News by Email. Get The Community Toolbar. Get The Community Toolbar.
Def Leppard Tour History Fan Archive.
Joe Elliott Show 18th October 2014 Playlist/Quotes

Sunday, 19th October 2014

Joe Elliott Sheffield 2008.
Pic by dltourhistory

Def Leppard singer Joe Elliott hosted another edition of his weekly radio show last night on Planet Rock.

This weeks show included songs by Down 'n' Outz, Queen and Ian Hunter.

Joe mentioned that he recorded vocals last week for Phil Collen's upcoming Delta Deep album.

The full playlist is shown below along with a few of Joe's on air quotes.

The show is available until next Saturday using the On Demand feature. It is also repeated on Tuesdays at 9pm.

The Joe Elliott Show - 18th October 2014 Playlist

  • 01 - Down 'n' Outz - Storm
  • 02 - Cheap Trick - When The Lights Are Out
  • 03 - Queen - The Fairy Feller's Master-Stroke (Live At The Rainbow '74)
  • 04 - Rival Sons - Pocketful Of Stones
  • 05 - Robert Plant - Pocketful Of Golden
  • 06 - Doctors Of Madness - Suicide City
  • 07 - The Quireboys - Double Dealin'
  • 08 - Bad City - Call Paul Stanley
  • 09 - 40ft Ringo - Inside Your Head
  • 10 - Paul Stanley - Wouldn't You Like To Know Me
  • 12 - Ian Hunter - Sweet Jane (Live)
  • 13 - Ricky Warwick - Anybody Wanna Waste Some Time

The Joe Elliott Show - Quotes

Show Intro

"Evening music lovers and welcome to the most successful rock radio station in the UK. I am of course talking about Planet Rock. Its the Joe Elliott Show it's that time of night we have sixty minutes of fantastic music. Now I'm finally back home for a weekend having spent the last three weekends in London either doing the NFL, watching Ian Hunter or last week watching the Doctors Of Madness. More on that later on. I'm back home working and getting ready for the Down 'n' Outz tour in December. Where you might hear a little bit of this."

Down 'n' Outz

"Recorded back in 2010 in Joe's Garage. That's the Down 'n' Outz there from the album My ReGeneration with Storm. A song originally on Mott's second album from 1976 - album called Shouting And Pointing."

Robert Plant

"He's coming to Dublin in a couple of weeks time and I cannot wait to see him perform some of these new songs live. That is Robert Plant from his brand new album Lullaby and... The Ceaseless Roar with a song called Pocketful Of Golden."

Down 'n' Outz/Doctors Of Madness

"They're gonna be very busy boys those guys are because as soon as the tour finishes in Bristol the Down 'n' Outz tour starts about three or four days later. Those boys of course are The Quireboys and that's from their most recent release Black Eyed Sons the song called Double Dealin'. And before that from an album called Figments Of Emancipation a band that had been split since '78 but got back together last week for a one off performance. They're part avant garde. They're part proto punk. One foot in prog and one foot firmly in out there. They are the Doctors Of Madness. A fantastic song that I had the pleasure of singing with them last week. The track called Suicide City."

Steve Brown/40ft Ringo

"In anybody out there was wondering what he gets up to when he's not being a stunt Viv. I am talking about Steve Brown who stood in for Vivian Campbell for Def Leppard's NFL performance about three weekends ago. That's what he gets up to. That's his band the band are called 40ft Ringo and from an album called Funny Thing we just heard a song called Inside Your Head."

Show Outro

"Recorded four years ago but only just released. An album called Live In The UK 2010. That is Ian Hunter with his version of the old Velvet Underground song Sweet Jane which of course Mott The Hoople had already covered on their 1972 album All The Young Dudes. And before that from his debut album back in 1978 when all four members of KISS released solo albums on the same day we heard Paul Stanley with Wouldn't You Like To Know Me."

"And that my friends is it for this week, been a pleasure as always. I shall be back with you next week at the same time. Until then let's waste a little bit more time with this boy. He's in Belfast tonight. Hopefully I'll see him in the next couple of days. His name is Ricky Warwick and from an album called Love Many, Trust Few this is Anybody Wanna Waste Some Time. Until next week see ya!."